translate arrow

CSAFE Global



BRUSSELS: May 17, 2017. In an update to its Air Safety List, the European Commission has banned Air Zimbabwe from flying to the 28 EU Member States "due to unaddressed safety deficiencies".

The airline, owned by the government of Zimbabwe, has operated B767-200 aircraft for long-haul services. According to its website: "Air Zimbabwe's proud history hinges on its enviable safety record, the exceptional skills of its pilots, technical and ground staff, and its strong inflight customer services."

AirZimA320Other airlines joining already-banned Iran Aseman Airlines (Iran), Iraqi Airways (Iraq) and Blue Wing Airlines (Surinam) are: (Med-View (Nigeria), Mustique Airways (St. Vincent and the Grenadines), and Aviation Company Urga (Ukraine).

As a result of an assessment by the European Aviation Safety Agency, the Commission said all airlines certified in Benin and Mozambique are now cleared from the list, following further improvements in aviation safety.

EU commissioner for Transport Violeta Bulc commented: "I am glad that we are able to take all carriers from Benin and Mozambique out of the air safety list. Their reforms have paid off. This is also a signal to the 16 countries that remain on the list. It shows that work and cooperation pays off. The Commission and the European Aviation Safety Agency are ready to assist them and raise the safety standards worldwide," she added.

A total of 181 airlines are banned from EU skies including 174 airlines in 16 states due to what the Commission said is a lack of safety oversight by their respective aviation authorities.

The countries are: Afghanistan, Angola (with the exception of one airline which operates under restrictions and conditions); Republic of the Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Gabon (with the exception of two airlines which operate under restrictions and conditions); Indonesia (with the exception of seven airlines), the Kyrgyz Republic, Liberia, Libya, Nepal, São Tomé and Príncipe, Sierra Leone and Sudan.

The Commission said an additional six airlines are subject to operational restrictions and can only fly to the EU with specific aircraft types: Afrijet and Nouvelle Air Affaires SN2AG (Gabon), Air Koryo (Democratic People's Republic of Korea), Air Service Comores (the Comoros), Iran Air (Iran) and TAAG Angola Airlines (Angola).

Download the latest EU Air Safety list here: EU_banned_airlines_2017.pdf

CSAFE Global




- powered by Quickchilli.com -